going to the left coast


I had an interesting experience recently. I was asked by a recruiter who contacted me on LinkedIn if I knew of any gynecology colleagues who might be interested in a medical director role at a really cool medical device startup in Redwood City, CA. I couldn’t think of anyone off the top of my head, remarking back that it was a shame the company is in California since what they’re doing is right up my alley,  and anyway, I really wasn’t looking to move from my current position. The recruiter persisted, and to make a long story short, I made it through the interview process, accepted and will be starting in two weeks.

I’m not moving from Pennsylvania, however, although I will be spending a lot of time traveling to and from the Bay Area as well as a few clinical trial sites. I also get to use a nice new MacBook Pro, which I have yet to set up (Debbie bet me that I couldn’t go 48 hours without opening the box, and I can report that I’m still master of my domain). But this way I get to have the best of both sides of the US, and besides, Debbie and I are really West Coast people living on the East Coast. Still, it will be an interesting challenge since we essentially manage our family and chores 50/50. I’m fortunate in having a spouse who is unselfish and very supportive, and this is also a great opportunity to do something I really feel very strongly about. Now if only I could write music on the plane, I’d be able to get tons of works finished…