myspace is lame


I received this in my e-mail just now:

“My Space is obsolete, your music deserves better, please read..

Hi,

If you’ve been paying attention, you already know that My Space is on the decline for indies.  It has become a surrogate for major labels and it is also now evident that few people read the bulletins anymore, so building that friend list for most has been a major waste of time.   Why wade around in overcrowded waters where many artists are trying to fool the system, when you can be part of a truly innovative site where the traffic (which is enormous, by the way) is not mainly a dating  pickup joint  but rather is made up of serious indie music lovers, many who run internet stations  and work to promote your music for you.

In recent months, thousands of My Space artists have migrated to IACmusic.com.   They set up a page and get immersed rather quickly because IAC is where the legitimate indie culture on the web congregates. We don’t bother with outdated gimmicks like friend lists but focus on the appreciation of quality music, the heart of the site is the amazing station/playlist set up which totally blows away anything of its kind anywhere else.  IAC belongs to the artists, it’s the perfect union of internet and music   You will meet collaborators and journalists.  We could go on but if you start a free page for your songs you will absolutely see for yourself.  IAC is intelligent, not corporate.  You will remember why you got into music in the first place.  Do you write quality songs?  Then there’s one place you need to be.”

That got my attention. And in large part because it’s true. MySpace is crap. The page designs range from tolerably boring to illegible nonsense. ”Friending“ people isn’t that useful, and while I’ve enjoyed getting to know folks like Hugh Sung, James Combs, Alessandra Celletti and a few others, MySpace hasn’t done that much to get my music out there. Sure, it’s great that 2000-3000 people with deranged musical tastes have listened to my music through my MySpace page, but has it led to any performances? AFAIK, the answer is no. I’m glad that people have listened to my music, but I have no way to know how many of those people clicked on a work and left my page in disgust after a few seconds. I can’t even tell how many people downloaded my works as opposed to just hearing them. MySpace also maintains an unclear limit on file uploads, meaning that much of my music cannot be uploaded unless I want to subject listeners to MP3 files processed at 8 kbps. 

So I’m giving IACmusic.com a try. I’m in the middle of uploading some of my music and we’ll see what happens. What sold me so far on IACmusic is the honest tone of their e-mail and their lack of interest in maintaining friend lists. Whether this is the way to get one’s music distributed above and beyond a personal Web site remains to be seen, but it’s worth a shot. I’m still keeping the MySpace page, but have noticed a marked dropoff in friend requests and visits to my page. I suspect the novelty of MySpace is starting to wear off, but I don’t have data to definitively support this. I can say, however, that MySpace is not the end all be all of music sites, in large part because it isn’t just a music site but also a chaotic collection of pages that have nothing to do with independent music.