royalties for darfur


Steve Layton’s very nice realization of my piece darfur pogrommen has been available for some time on iTunes, and Steve had generously agreed to donate the proceeds to savedarfur.org. Steve and I finally had an opportunity to meet earlier this week in San Francisco, and right before dinner handed me the most recent royalties that I sent in today to savedarfur.org. 

So what’s my point? Simple: even if you can’t stand the music (and to be perfectly honest and self-deprecatory and all that, my music is an acquired taste that many folks probably will never acquire, and that’s ok), download Steve’s totally excellent album and in the process make a donation to the cause of stopping the genocide in Darfur. 100% of the proceeds will go to savedarfur.org. If you don’t like iTunes, no worries; you can also download it from eMusic. And who knows…you might dig the music as well.