miscellanea


  • As I was riding home on the train from the airport, I caught last night’s video podcast of Countdown. Interesting item about Alan Keyes, to say the least. So Obama’s a “radical communist” who needs to be stopped?

“Obama is a radical communist and I think it is becoming clear. That is what I told people in Illinois and now everybody realizes it is coming true,” said Keyes who ran unsuccessfully against Obama for the Senate in 2004. “He is going to destroy this country and we are either going to stop him or the United States of America is going to cease to exist,”

I always knew Keyes was a jackass (I’m being charitable—no disrespect to donkeys, mind you), but this is not only something that suggests desperation. It suggests sedition. What exactly does Keyes mean by “stop him?” And regardless of what he meant, does no one think it can be misinterpreted by some of the crazies out there as marching orders to do some harm to our President? I’m a free speech advocate, but threats against the President do not qualify as protected speech under the First Amendment. Why isn’t Keyes being investigated for this?

  • Eric Holder was correct in saying we’re a nation of cowards for not adequately addressing race in this country. But I also agree with Melissa Harris-Lacewell of Princeton when she writes that Holder didn’t go far enough—he should have indicated what concrete steps his Justice Dept. will do to hold people’s feet to the fire when there is evidence of racial discrimination. It’s great that we have Obama as president, but we’re still hardly a race-blind country. Remember some of the racial attacks on Obama during the campaign, or the “He’s a Muslim” tactic of the far right? And need I mention that NY Post cartoon?
  • Almost done with a new piece for saxophone quartet. Another few days locked up in a hotel in Palo Alto, CA and I should be fine. Now I just have to hope it’s playable by the quartet that asked me to write it…
  • Just received my second replacement set of ProCable earbuds for my iPhone. This one lasted less than two months. The first pair had one channel die on me for no apparent reason, and its replacement has almost no sound in the left channel. To RadTech’s credit, they shipped out a new set that got to me in PA in two days. But they deny there’s an issue. Their consumer forums would suggest otherwise.