premiere


I wrote bs piece (double canon for bill solomon) last September in a hotel room in Palo Alto, CA. It’s scored for six marimbas, and is entirely 12-tone, postminimalist and, well, canonical. As I wrote in this blog at the time, it was a piece I wasn’t sure would really work out and wasn’t sure I’d like the result, since I hadn’t written anything 12-tone since the early 80’s (by choice) and generally don’t use processes to dictate what notes I should write. I ended up really liking the piece, and its dedicatee, the percussionist extraordinaire Bill Solomon, liked it as well. Bill is at the Hartt School of Music at the University of Hartford in Connecticut, and plays a ton of new music, much of which is very difficult. We discussed how the piece could be realized in performance, and Bill opted for 1-2 live marimbas against prerecorded tape of the remaining instruments. Not easy to do, for sure, but not impossible either.

Thanks to Bill, the work will be premiered this August 6th at the Hartt School of Music with Bill and Michael Lunoe on live and prerecorded marimbas. The significance of doing this on the anniversary of the mass killing from the dropping of the first atomic bomb on Hiroshima hasn’t escaped my notice.

Bill was one of the performers of my work objects in 2006 in NYC, and he’s now the first person who will have premiered two of my compositions. I’m also happy that less than a year has transpired between the composition and premiere; in contrast, objects wasn’t heard until seven years after I had written it.

More details will be forthcoming, but here’s the information as of now:

Thursday, 8/6/09 7:30 PM

Berkman Recital Hall, Hartt School, U of Hartford, West Hartford, CT

performers Bill Solomon & Michael Lunoe, marimbas