2009: what I read on my iPhone’s kindle reader


Last March, I downloaded the then-new Kindle reader for the iPhone. I still don’t have a Kindle, nor do I plan to purchase one. But I’ve become quite fond of reading books on my iPhone and have had to take great pains to control myself so that this doesn’t become an expensive habit compared to, say, checking the books out of our local library when available. It’s probably of no interest to anyone, but just for the hell of it, here’s what I’ve read so far on my iPhone’s Kindle Reader since March of this year:

  1. Outliers: The Story of Success
  2. The Bourne Sanction
  3. Thus Spoke Zarathustra (I lost the original paperback copy I had since med school)
  4. Descent into Chaos (a really great book about Central Asia)
  5. The Dark Side: The Inside Story of How The War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals (this should be required reading for every American)
  6. Hidden Iran: Paradox and Power in the Islamic Republic
  7. Engaging the Muslim World
  8. Serial (perhaps the sickest short story ever written, but it was free…)
  9. Afraid
  10. Renegade: The Making of a President (had a lot of promise, but became a snooze fest after awhile)
  11. The Art of War (too damned many annotations-then again, it was free)
  12. Truck Stop – A Psycho Thriller
  13. Desert Places
  14. In the President’s Secret Service: Behind the Scenes with Agents in the Line of Fire and the Presidents They Protect (had a lot of promise, but got bogged down at times, and I suspect the author is quite conservative, since every Republican president, including W, comes across really well but every Democrat is vilified)
  15. Body of Secrets: Anatomy of the Ultra-Secret National Security Agency (parts were really interesting, other parts not)
  16. The Cell: Inside the 9/11 Plot, and Why the FBI and CIA Failed to Stop It (I really liked this book-it was very well written and I couldn’t put it down after awhile)
  17. The Osama bin Laden I Know: An Oral History of al Qaeda’s Leader
  18. Holy War, Inc.: Inside the Secret World of Osama bin Laden (I liked this even better than #17 by the same author, which was also excellent)
  19. In the Graveyard of Empires (I’m in the middle of it now. It’s starting to get ponderous, but I remain hopeful)

Not bad though-nearly 20 books, some of which were either free or well under $9.99 and the rest were usually $9.99. Now if only the airlines would let me read during takeoff and landing.

