strange things are afoot at the circle k…


It’s been a busy week, and also a very productive one in terms of work. And I also managed to write a short work for viola, cello and vibraphone in two nights in a hotel room in Palo Alto, CA. To my surprise, the reactions have been unanimously positive. One composer commented that it is “Enjoyable.” Another said “Serene.” An old friend from high school, who is a visual artist, put together a video with his animated art using dharmachakramudra as the background music. All this in the span of three days. That’s amazing, and really pleasing. No one has said anything negative about the music. I’d normally suspect it’s doing well only because it’s brief, since most people have better things to do than listen to an hour or more of my music, but I think people’s reactions are genuine; I have no reason to believe otherwise. 

Like Bill and Ted said, “Strange things are afoot at the Circle K.”