air waves (2014) for brass quintet and synthesizer


Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 12.01.58 AM

Before I mention this piece, I have to say that I spent probably two hours today trying to make a simple addition to the “about the music” page on my music site, since snippets of earlier text kept appearing and additional columns and line breaks as well, even though none of these were in the actual page code and rendered well outside of WordPress. I’m convinced WordPress is possessed or else has something against new music, since it made that minor task horribly painful.

Okay, now that that’s out of my system…I have a new work.

I was interested in putting together a brass work with mostly static chords. But a few of the chords sounded best with a very low pedal tone, which unfortunately were a bit out of range of even a tuba. So my solution was to add a synthesizer that essentially doubled all the brass tones. Paul Bailey kindly looked it over and made some great suggestions (such as the addition of a French horn, which I was initially avoiding). The result is air waves, which lasts around 20′-25′.

The score is here. The audio file (mp3) is here.